Robert Beanlands

Robert Beanlands

Vered Chair and Head, Division of Cardiology, Department of Medicine
Professor, Medicine (Cardiology)/Radiology, University of Ottawa
Distinguished University of Ottawa Cardiovascular Imaging Research Chair
Director, National Cardiac PET Centre, University of Ottawa Heart Institute
Ottawa, ON

Dr. Beanlands is Vered Chair and Chief of the Division of Cardiology at the University of Ottawa Heart Institute and The Ottawa Hospital and founding Director of the National Cardiac PET Centre, (the only PET facility in Canada dedicated to cardiovascular disease); Professor in the Division of Cardiology in the Department of Medicine, Department of Radiology (Cross-Appointment), Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine (Cross-Appointment) in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Ottawa. He has been a Career Investigator supported by the Heart and Stroke Foundation (HSF) and is an uOttawa Distinguished Chair in Cardiovascular Imaging. His research on cardiac metabolism, flow and cellular function has led to pioneering translational work that has impacted understanding of disease, application in patient care, health policy and guidelines. He has led or co-led multicentre imaging research initiatives [PARR2, IMAGE-Heart Failure, Canadian Atherosclerotic Imaging Network (CAIN (Co-PI), CADENCE]. He has >370 peer reviewed publications. He has served on several committees/advisory boards for government, industry and professional organizations impacting healthcare policies and practice guidelines. He is an Associate Editor for the Canadian Journal of Cardiology and has served in this capacity for the Journal of Nuclear Cardiology. Dr. Beanlands is a previous President of the American Society of Nuclear Cardiology and of the Canadian Nuclear Cardiology Society. His recent awards include the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal for contributions to Canada (2012), Blumgart Research Achievement Award from the Society of Nuclear Medicine (2013), the Canadian Cardiovascular Society Research Achievement Award (2015), CCS/CIHR Distinguished Lecturer Award (2019), uOttawa Alumnus of year (2020).


Follow @CanHFSociety Along on Twitter